The Emirate of Transjordan was the name given to this small state when it was recognized in 1921, after the collapse of the Ottoman Empire and the promulgation of the Balfour Declaration.

It was not until 1946 that Transjordan became a completely sovereign state.

In 1950, Transjordan merged with part of Palestine to form the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

Amman is the capital and the largest city.

error: Content is protected !!